Ode to the Pineapple

Mmmm… pineapple. Great by itself, heaven on a pizza, and quite pretty on your kitchen table! A centerpiece that nobody can argue with!

Yep, the pineapple. When I was pregnant with Oliver, I was grateful every morning that the cafeteria had fresh (or possibly canned and chilled; I wasn’t really all that picky!) pineapple on hand every day. That was all I wanted for three months.

So, fun facts about the pineapple:

  • Its name comes from its similarity in looks to a pine cone.
  • Pineapple juice breaks down protein… so it is a good marinade for meat.
  • It looks funny when it grows:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I actually saw a live pineapple plant when I was in Panama. (The country, not the city in Florida, although I’ve been to both.) It was really neat–it looked like it was going to topple over any second. And I hadn’t ever thought about where pineapples come from before I saw it growing, but I woudn’t have guessed that it would look quite like it does.

DISCLAIMER: This is not actually an ode… it is not particularly stately or lyrical, and does not contain a strophe, an antistrophe, and an epode. Forgive me.

5 responses to “Ode to the Pineapple

  1. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours as of late, yet I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful price sufficient for me.
    In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the web might be much more useful than
    ever before.

  2. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had
    to ask!

Leave a Reply

