What I do

I am an accountant. I work in audit (so, no, I have no idea what the answer to your tax questions are!), and have assisted in the audits of some pretty high profile companies. It’s danged cool!

After I had the baby, I was able to take 6 months of maternity leave. When I came back, I was fortunate to be able to get a flexible work arrangement, where I work part-time. It’s funny though–the HR people at my company weren’t as excited about the idea of a second year auditor on flex-time, so they weren’t going to take me on at all–I was polishing up my resume to begin a new job search. But then a manager on the engagement that I work on realized that there we had a mutual need–the engagement needed someone part time to do independence work, because the client is such that remaining independent (as external auditors are bound to do) can be tricky, and we have a specialized independence process. They wanted an auditor to do it, but at the same time didn’t want to pull qualified people off of the engagement to do the independence piece. I wanted to work part time–it was a perfect match! I have been so fortunate–the company has just been fantastic and my managers, seniors, and the partners have been so understanding and flexible with me and the hours that I work.

Today I was able to join with an audit team on the engagement, so I’ll be working part time as an auditor now! I’m really excited–I can’t wait to get my hands dirty!

One response to “What I do

Leave a Reply

