Jesus

Six and a half years ago, I made a decision to be a Christian.  I decided to follow Christ.  I wasn’t totally sure what that would entail, nor was I really sure that Jesus was the way to go.  But I made that decision, and I stick by it.

I think that being a Christian and following Christ is more of an attitude and a decision than a spiritual smack in the face.  I’ve never heard heavenly choirs sing.  But I definitely have a relationship with Christ, all my own.  Some days I’m super excited about it, and some days I’m just getting by.   And I think that’s okay.  There is no area of my life that I am ‘on’ all the time.  I don’t know that that is realistic, at least not for me.  I think that, for me, following Jesus means trying to follow him (and actively not not following him, double negative intended) even on the days when I’m not feeling so religious.

That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it.

4 responses to “Jesus

  1. I like your story. Mine is similar in a lot of ways. To me, all the people who scream the “Hallelujahs” and the “Amens” are just full of it. Spirituality is a quiet thing, and once I learned that, life was much better.

  2. You’re right, Beata. All of my most intensely spiritual moments have been just that–quiet. And they take different forms. Sitting with Conner somewhere, knowing we’re bound together. Cuddling the baby at night when he’s nestled up to me. Getting answers to prayers have always been quiet, peaceful, sweet feelings.

  3. bless you 🙂 i think some people have received so much joy sometimes (never know what has been happening in their lives, right?) and there is no way to contain joy sometimes other than to show it, yea?

Leave a Reply

