Why Knit?

There are lots of reasons to knit.

For me, though, it comes to some simple reasons:

  1. I’m taking some pieces of wood, and some string, and making something that someone can wear… that’s just cool.
  2. It is simultaneously completely engaging and not at all. I can focus purely on knitting and be satisfied, or I can knit while I watch TV (and thus hopefully not snack on those m&ms…).
  3. The rhythmic nature of knitting is meditative and relaxing.
  4. There are only two stitches in knitting–knits and purls. Sure, you do awesome looking things with it (although the big secret is that cables are super easy… but don’t tell anyone I told you!), but you do it with knits and purls.
  5. I suck at drawing, painting, etc. in general, so those wouldn’t be good hobbies for me–I don’t want to grow as a person; the fact that I’m 24 years old and my drawings are virtually indistinguishable from a 3rd graders means that any growing that I would do would be to, perhaps, 8th grade level, and it’s just not worth the effort for me.
  6. Knitting in the round looks intimidating (and maybe even dangerous), but is quite fun when you get the hang of it.
  7. Being a knitter makes me safer. I’m much more likely to have sharp, pointy things should someone attack me, and since I use bamboo needles, I could also stake a vampire if I was attacked. And that’s just useful.

That might be it for now. Knit! Try it! You might like it! Join us… we don’t bite!

2 responses to “Why Knit?

  1. I still think you should learn how to Crochet, no matter what Stephanie Pearl-McPhee says. that way you’ll be even more multi-talented than you already are.

  2. Crochet is fun – besides, you can learn it just to crochet cool trims onto sweaters and scarves and what not.

Leave a Reply

