Semi

I have an English grammar point of the day calendar (thanks to my brother-in-law and sister-in-law!), and today it described the difference between ‘semi’ and ‘bi’ (semi-weekly being twice a week and biweekly being every two weeks, for anyone who wasn’t sure. ;))

Conner (my dh) and I agreed that this was never something we’d had trouble with–‘semi’ means half, and ‘bi’ means two… so it’s quite easy to keep them straight.

But then Conner said that most people don’t know what semi means.  He said that most people would think that ‘semi’ means kinda.

I wonder if he’s right… and I hope that he’s wrong.

Leave a Reply

