Christian Service and Motivation

I want to be more like Christ.  Sounds simple enough, right?

So, I’m trying to go out of my way to help other people, be nice to people, stop swearing at bad drivers (maybe that’s a vice I can keep?), etc.

But I don’t know if I have the right motivations.  Maybe I’m metathinking, but is it enough, is it okay, to do stuff because it’s the right thing to do?  I mean, I feel like my motivations should be more pure somehow–like, I should just want to, or it should just be the way that I am.   Maybe in doing good stuff it will become the person I am, but for right now I feel like a fraud who’s pretending to be kind.

Because really, let’s face it, I’m a grumpy bugger.

4 responses to “Christian Service and Motivation

  1. I think doing something right because it is the right thing to do is a perfectly good reason. Sure, doing it because it is simply your nature would be the ideal, but that’s kind of the point of Christianity: we fail to live up to the ideal. Guaranteed, every time.

    So, doing right because you want to be a better person, or even because you want to be the kind of person who does it because it’s their nature? That’s a step in the right direction. And it’s not doing right for the wrong reason.

  2. If you are a “grumpy bugger,” then I am an antisocial, misanthropic, nasty witch.

    At any rate…cut yourself some slack and remember you are just TRYING to be MORE LIKE Him. You aren’t BEING as good as Him, because it just ain’t possible.

  3. This goes back to a fundamental question: Have I really repented if I never really felt bad about what I did, if I just stopped because I knew I needed to? Most people encounter this problem at some point in time. We’re taught that we should sacrifice a contrite heart, and a broken spirit. This is the language the KJV ible uses. In Coloquial terms this is often translated to mean that we should feel bad about what we’ve done and want to change.
    I don’t beleive that this step is necessary, if it isn’t necessary. If we can cease one of our faults without being beaten over the head by the spirit then all the better. This is similar to the parable of the Prodigal Son. In this case you’re the good son. The one that didn’t have to loose everything to figure out he was being stupid.

  4. I’m The Good Son? I thought that was Macaulay Culkin? 🙂

    You guys are right. It’s just hard to not feel like a hypocrit sometimes.

Leave a Reply

