Is She Comfortable?

Walking around the city, I usually carry Hazel in a moby wrap (the lilac Moby D, to be exact).  I get tons of compliments on it, and people often stop me to ask me where I got it, either because they want one themselves or they want to purchase one as a gift for a pregnant loved one.

But then today I got the oddest comment (and it wasn’t the first time someone has said this either, which in my mind goes to show the sheer lack of thinking that people do these days).  Conner and I had stopped to look at some street wares (on a quick tangent, we got a set of 600 thread count queen sized sheets for $20 today!) and a woman says, “That’s an interesting wrap.  Are you sure she’s comfortable in it?”

Uh… what do you say to that?  I mean, she hasn’t expressed her comfort directly–her current vocabulary consists of ‘ahhh’ and the regular belch.  But she does fall asleep in it, and when she got tired of being all tucked into it (one of the newborn holds), she would fuss in it.  So, I assume she’s comfortable. 

But isn’t that a weird question?  I’m tempted to respond, “Actually, I’m pretty sure she’s quite uncomfortable.  In fact, I believe that she hates it and considers it a torture device.  I continue using it, however, because of my lack of caring what my infant thinks, and my desire to selfishly carry my baby as close to me as possible.  I’m sure you can tell by her slight snores that she might indeed have some broken bones.”

I mean, really, people.  Think before you talk, or expect to get mocked.  🙂

3 responses to “Is She Comfortable?

  1. Pingback: Because Yesterday Wasn’t Enough « Katy’s Blog

Leave a Reply

