Unconditional Parenting

I asked for (and received) the book Unconditional Parenting by Alfie Kohn. I have broken into it and read the first two chapters.

So far, I have been told that time outs are no good, praise is no good, corporal punishment is no good… and I still have at least two more chapters to read before I find out what the heck I’m supposed to do to raise my kids to be decent human beings with a sense of self-worth and the motivation to do good unto others and stuff.

While I am not totally sold on the precepts (yet?), I think it will be an interesting read and something that is worth considering in my quest to be the best mom to these kids that I am capable of.

Until then, I guess I should just let chaos reign in my house as there is no way to enforce any rules I may implement. šŸ™‚

4 responses to “Unconditional Parenting

  1. So far, praise is a kind of conditional parenting.

    Still haven’t gotten to what I need to do. But I am attempting to potty train in the meantime.

  2. yikes, I am frightened of this book! Please post when some light appears at the end of the tunnel.

    Chaos reigns around here already. Perhaps I can claim it as a parenting style.

  3. Pingback: The Point of Parenting « Mommy CPA

Leave a Reply

