Mommy Guilt

Maybe this time I deserve it.

Oliver desperately wanted to play Mario Kart tonight (note that this means that I play and he holds an empty wheel, spins it around, tells me all of the stuff that “his” car is doing, and gets all excited–it’s really cute!).  It was already past bedtime, so I told him that he would have to choose–books, or Mario Kart.  Honestly, I thought he would choose books.

He chose MarioKart, and we had a delightful time racing around the corners and yelling and being excited.  Then I tucked him into bed and all was well…. until he saw a book on the floor.

He wanted me to read it to him.  I told him no.

Yep, that’s right.  My three year old asked me to read to him and I said no.  We played video games instead.  Feel free to judge me; I’m already feeling the persecution of the gods of education and reading and stuff.

Leave a Reply

