Surgery Success

Oliver had his dental surgery this morning.  Besides my emotional state being frazzled at best, it went off without a hitch.  I had talked to Oliver about what to expect ahead of time, and his only request was that I stay with him the whole time (we will never EVER mention how after he fell asleep I went and sat in the waiting room).

So, here is our morning, in pictures:

On our way to the hospital after we had dropped Hazel off.
Photobucket

Waiting to be checked in. They had a kids’ section for us to sit in. Olive was my champion in his Batman cape.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Back in the pre-operating room, where we changed into our awesome outfits and Oliver got a drug to relax him so he wouldn’t freak out about the gas. The nurses were all surprised that Oliver was so stubborn even after taking the meds! He wouldn’t let me put his hospital shirt on or his hat.
Here are his cool socks:
Photobucket

Photobucket

My rockin’, sexy outfit. Note that they chose for me “Father X-Large”–I don’t know why I didn’t qualify for “Father Medium”, at least… Oliver took the pictures of me, so I am headless and/or weird looking in all of them. 🙂
Photobucket

Photobucket

Me and Oliver, hammin’ it up. He was so brave!
Photobucket

He finally let me put on his hospital shirt (I think they chose pink because they all thought he was a girl). There was a TV right there that he was watching, and he would only let me put it on cartoons in Spanish.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Me, showing off my awesome hat that I got to wear. I was trying to convince Oliver that he should put his on too, but no dice.
Photobucket

After the surgery was done, I was brought back into the room area with Oliver before he woke up. Here he is, still sedated.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Seeing him hooked up to all the machines and stuff brought back memories of when he was born.
Today–
Photobucket

March 15, 2006–
Photobucket

On our way home from the hospital, at the ready for any throw up. Luckily, he saved all his vomit for the hospital ride out, so the wagon got the worst of it.
Photobucket

Photobucket

All in all, he only needed one crown and got a bunch of fillings. Way better than anticipated. Also, he only kind of fought the anesthesia.

One response to “Surgery Success

  1. POOR OLIVER!!!! I didn’t even realize that they did dental surgery like that when they are little. Holy cow Katy-you are the woman. I’m glad they gave you ginormous men scrubs and Oliver a pink shirt-what idiots. I can’t imagine seeing him being put under like that. I am so glad everything turned out okay.

Leave a Reply

