Attitude is Everything

Ahhh, isn’t it wonderful to have a cliche as the title of a post?

This morning, Hazel woke up at 4, and then again at 5:30. At 4, I nursed her and put her back to bed. At 5:30, I was going to do the same (or, really, just bring her back to bed with me), but she woke up Oliver.

I tried to convince Oliver that we should all go back to sleep and that it was too early. He disagreed and thought that we should all go have breakfast. He was not deterred.

So I was cranky. I got the kids breakfast and was grumpy. (Granted, they were whiny from being up too early themselves.) But while I was snapping at Oliver (again), I looked at the clock and realized that this is the time that I get up every day for work. So, while it is unreasonably early to wake up at 5:30 (I think, at least), on a weekend… it’s not that different from my norm. And I don’t think that I go into work and snap at my colleagues all morning–even when they’re whiny.

I apologized to Oliver for being a ‘Grumpus McBumpus’, and we had a fun morning after that. The neighbors will probably complain, but that’s another story for another day.

One response to “Attitude is Everything

Leave a Reply

