Sunday Oliverism

Driving to church this morning, I was talking to Oliver about church-y stuff. I asked him if he talks about Jesus in his class at church (he said no). I asked if he knows who Jesus is (he said no). Then we had the following conversation:

Me: Oliver, do you know who God is?
Oliver: Yes.
Me: What can you tell me about God?
Oliver: (bashful) I don’t know.
Me: Well, God is like Mommy and Daddy because He loves you very, very much. But He’s different from Mommy and Daddy because you can’t see or touch him.
Oliver: Oh. I think Daddy is God.
Me: No, he’s not.
Oliver: Yes, he is.
Me: Why is Daddy God?
Oliver: He just is.
Me: Is Mommy God?
Oliver: Nope.
Me: Why isn’t Mommy God?
Oliver: (laughing like I’ve just said something ridiculous) Because Mommy is a lady!
Me: Why can’t God be a lady?
Oliver: That would be silly.
Me: I don’t think that God is a boy or a girl, Oliver.
Oliver: Yes. god is a boy. Daddy is God.

I think we’re going to have to have more discussions about this…

3 responses to “Sunday Oliverism

  1. Meghan says that if God isn’t a boy or a girl, what is he then, a butterfly?

  2. Pingback: Main Street Plaza » Sunday in Outer Blogness: The Dead and the Living Edition!

Leave a Reply

