He’s Growing Up On Me

So, I’m a little bit heartbroken today.

First, Pap, Oliver’s beloved frog, died.  We broke the news to Oliver, who cried and was sad, and asked some questions, but is doing okay.

Then, later on, Oliver yelled at me and told me to go away.  So I acted extra-sad to let him know that he was saying things that hurt feelings.  I asked if he was sorry, and he said that he wasn’t sorry because he was angry with me at the time and wanted me to go away.  I told him that we should work on nicer ways to say that to each other then, because we don’t want to treat people that way.  He said, “OK, Mom.  But that’s impossible.  Sometimes I’m just angry and I don’t think then.”

Um, the kid is three.  What’s up with the articulation extraordinaire?

And then, to top it all off, Oliver has always called peeing “peeping”, which is adorable.  And we have totally taken it on and always ask him if he wants to peep.  He sat on the potty before bed, and said, “Mommy, we can’t call it ‘peeping’ anymore.  It’s peeing.  “Peep” is the name of a chicken.  So let’s call it pee, okay?”

Kullervo then tried to say ‘peep’ a couple of times, but Oliver said that that wasn’t right.

He’s growing up much too fast.  But in the meantime, he delights me every day.

5 responses to “He’s Growing Up On Me

  1. Aww. What a cutie. It reminds me of a story that Grandma Deitrick told me about Conner when he was about that age. Something about the song not being “right.” Like father, like son.

  2. Huh, that’s surprising that you and conner would have a slightly precocious child… weird 😉 Just kidding, honestly though… how great is having an articulate intelligent child!

  3. “…Sometimes I’m just angry and I don’t think then.”
    Man If you had said conrad said that I would have beleived you and not even assumed you were lyng. 🙂

Leave a Reply

