American Idol – Part 1 (The Hair)

So, after too much time and much ado, after promises broken, after another busy season, after Lyme Disease and Hand, Foot, and Mouth Disease, and during the middle of strep throat (or mono–we’ll see in a couple of days), after the bar exam, after Kullervo went to Annual Training and Puerto Rico, I am finally writing about American Idol auditions.

Part One revolves exclusively around my hair.  While I am no stranger to dying my hair–I’ve been doing it since about the 8th grade–I did something during those two weeks in June that I had never done before.  I bleached it.  Not all of it, but I bleached a noticeable portion of my hair. And, because I’m always thinking about my loyal readers (if there are any left), I took lots of pictures to share!

Awkward self-portrait as I prepared to dye

Awkward self-portrait as I prepared to dye

I carefully sectioned off the hair that I wanted to dye, and added the bleach… and waited. I did this during a naptime, so I also said some prayers that the kids wouldn’t wake up early during this part. (And later sent up praises for naptime.)

Bleach!
Funny faces with bleach

I’ll admit that I was a little worried that the $10 box of hair dye was going to make my hair fall out, but reasonably certain that my husband would love me regardless and my kids would only have a little less hair to pull. It might have been awkward during business meetings when I went back to work after my two weeks off (“where did your hair go?”… “Oh, that’s a sad, sad story of failed hopes and dreams and a bottle of blue bleach… no, there was no alcohol involved, why would you ask?”).

So, here I am as a blonde:
Hazel the Adorable and Katy the Blonde

Clearly a nice, even bleach job...

Clearly a nice, even bleach job...

It wasn’t the most professional looking job, but I was covering it up shortly.

Where did the blonde go?

Where did the blonde go?

And, finally… my American Idol look (at least for my hair), all finished:
Katy the Rock Star

3 responses to “American Idol – Part 1 (The Hair)

Leave a Reply

