Punching Pillow

I posted before about anger. This is what I am trying with Oliver and Hazel, to help them manage their emotions in a healthy way. Anger is normal for everyone, but it is my job to teach my kids how to appropriately deal with intense emotions.

It isn’t okay to hurt other people, or themselves when they are angry. They also shouldn’t destroy their stuff, because later they would regret it.

So, the punching pillow. A natural inclination for my kids (and for me too) is to want to physically vent anger. I realize this probably isn’t the best, but it is what it is. Some people get a punching bag, some people go work out. My kids now have a similar outlet-their punching pillow.

Oliver and I talke about the things he wants to do when he is angry, and we wrote them all on the pillowcase. Now, if he gets mad, I can direct him to the pillow until he has spent the physical, overwhelming portion of his anger, before he is capable of talking calmly about it.

We will see how it works out. In the meantime, we have an angry pillow.

2 responses to “Punching Pillow

Leave a Reply

