Vegetable Sneak

Oliver and Hazel are usually pretty good about eating vegetables. But as a typical mom, I worry about it. And I worry that they don’t get a lot of variety in their veggies (they usually eat carrots, peas, green beans, and corn that come frozen, because Oliver will only eat cold food). Oh, yeah-they also eat English cucumber, because that is awesome.

So, I get sneaky. Since, like most kids, they eat an unreasonable amount of macaroni and cheese, and some other yellow/orange meals (gnocchi, for example), I started surreptitiously adding vegetables.

How do you add cauliflower or butternut squash to mac & cheese, you ask? Well, let me tell you, so you can trick your kids too!

I steam vegetables of similar color. (So I pair yellow squash with cauliflower, and I do butternut squash and carrots.). Then I purée them and scoop them into ice cube trays. I freeze them, and then I add the cubes to dishes when I am cooking. It has the added benefit of cooling hot food down quickly, which is convenient for me since my kids will only eat cold food.

And I get to smirk with glee when they gobble up macaroni and cheese with cauliflower and squash and never notice the difference.

Leave a Reply

