Winter Stuff

Aside from the frigid freezingness of oh-my-gosh-I-never-want-to-go-outside-I-just-want-to-stay-in-and-eat-chocolate that comes with living in Chicago in the winter (was the last part just me?), the season brings at least two additional problems.

First, dressing two kids to brave the cold takes forever. By the time you have donned one child in a hat, scarf, mittens, boots, and coat, the other one has undone theirs, claiming that, after all, they’re not cold. This is a problem for which I have no solution (besides maniacal screaming, which isn’t very effective).

The second problem comes with where the heck to put aforementioned hats, scarves, and mittens such that they don’t wind up in the middle of the living room. Enter Katy.

My kids are pretty good about putting their shoes away, because I stress that it is their chore when they get home and apparently they like chores. Today, they helped me design and put together designated drawers for the winter peripherals, and know that putting their stuff away will be an additional winter chore.

They probably won’t be perfect about it, but when push comes to shove, at least everything will have a home. You know, besides all over the floor.

 

3 responses to “Winter Stuff

  1. Do you have the same problem/challenge in the Chicago as in Norway, that once you have the child in his or hers three-four layer of clothing including scarf, wolly hat etc – that the child suddently needs to go the toilet again… 🙂
    I love the way you are organising the clothes!

    Asta,
    WorldMomsBlog.com

  2. Oh no, Asta! I haven’t even thought about that problem… last winter, all of mine were in diapers!!

    I foresee a new rule about bathroom before snowpants in the works…

  3. I finally figured out that kind of organization AFTER the kids were mostly grown. I spent so many years trying to figure it out. You are ahead of the game!

Leave a Reply

