Life With a Toddler – Drink Drama

So, this morning, Hank the Tank looked at me, spread his hands out (which is his way of making a declarative sentence a question), and said, “baw-baw”, which means he wants a sippy cup.

I responded, “Sure, buddy.  Do you want water, or milk?”

He grunted.

I got out a sippy cup of milk and handed it to him.

He threw it.

I then filled up another sippy cup of water and handed it to him (process of elimination here).

He threw it.

I handed him the milk.

He threw it, shaking his head and crying.

I handed him the water.

He threw it, and then ran through the house to hurl his body into the front door in a fit of rage.

I put the milk into the fridge.

He ran over to the fridge, and started banging on it, yelling, “BAW-BAW! BAW-BAW!”

So I opened the fridge door, and handed him the milk.

He threw it, and again ran through the house to hurl his body into the front door.

I picked up both the water and the milk, and when he came back, whining about Baw-Baw, I held them both up and said, “Which do you want?”

He looked at me, smiled, and took them both.  Crisis over.

Two cups, Mom. All I wanted was two cups.  Duh.

Two cups, Mom. All I wanted was two cups. Duh.

 

But, I do declare… I believe the terrible twos have hit our house a few months early.

2 responses to “Life With a Toddler – Drink Drama

Leave a Reply

